top of page
  • Writer's pictureTwo Leos And A Gypsy .

ROSÉ POT ROAST

In this post, you will read about how I completed my first pot roast with a surprising new twist on flavors. Enjoy!

Good Afternoon My Gypsy Friends!!! I hope everyone is doing well and eating nutritiously.

I've been off of the radar for about a month now and I will address that in my upcoming posts. Some of the reasons may have to do with a new fur child.... stay tuned.

However, today I am here to talk about two other things I am passionate about that don't have four paws. POT ROAST & WINE!!!! The greatest chefs seem to always add a dash of red wine or alcohol to their food to deepen the flavor palate, so I decided since I am a great crock pot cooker, why not try to do the same thing. The only issue here is I did not have red wine, just some rosé that was a just waiting to enhance my first homemade pot roast. I decided since this was my first time trying to make one of my favorite meals I would pull out all the stops. So keep on reading if you would like to hear my secret to serving the best homemade pot roast, even if this is your first time around creating the dish.

My mouth is watering just typing about this meal I created. My husband really loves pot roast and you could have caught us once a week at Mariano's grabbing some from their already made hot food. Then, a couple months ago my mom started making us fresh pot roast I remembered how much I truly love to eat beef stew and pot roast. I finally decided that with my trusty crock pot, I too could start making delicious pot roast.


I started to read a bunch of recipes and decided that I should brown the meat first. I created a flavored olive oil to do so. First in a pan add your favorite olive oil, chopped garlic and rosemary. I put this on low heat and let all the flavors melt together.

While my olive oil mixture heated up, I seasoned the chuck roast that my husband picked out. I mixed dried thyme leaves, garlic powder, ground bay leaves, ground rosemary and fresh rosemary.

After you season both sides of the meat your olive oil mixture will be warm enough to start browning the chuck roast. Once you place the meat in the pan turn the heat up in between medium and high.

I flipped the meat over three times on each side to make sure it was browned evenly on each side. Browning the meat prior to cooking it in the crock pot will insure that the meat is cooked thoroughly and it will give it a stronger flavor.

After the meat chuck roast was browned, not cooked completely, I placed it in my crock pot.

Next, chop up your preferred veggies. I added the traditional pot roast vegetables to the crock pot this time. I made the celery and carrots bite sized and made larger potato chunks. I personally love a pot roast with thicker potatoes than the other vegetables, but please feel free to mix in whatever you prefer.

After adding the veggies to the crock pot I added my liquid, the most important part. This is where your seasoned meat and veggies will sit and soak up all the flavors.

Like I've mentioned a couple times in this post, this pot roast was my first time creating it. I never really made a stew or roast before. And if I am being honest, I never really make large quantity of meat ever. However, I knew that with this recipe I wanted it to be different and I wanted the flavor to stand out. This is where that delicious wine comes in.

Rosé is a great summer wine and when it is dry instead of sparkling, it pairs great with garlic dishes. The Dark Horse rosé was drier to the tongue than expected, which is why I wanted to cook with it instead of drinking it straight from the can. (Although I did have another glass with my pot roast for dinner.)

Add four cups of organic beef broth and one can of your favorite rosé. I also added more of the seasonings I used to brown the chuck roast.

Let your pot roast cook in the crock pot on high for five hours. Once you are able to pull the meat apart with two forks, you know it is complete.

Pour yourself some soup and crack open another can of wine (can of wine, what a concept) and enjoy the garlic and herbal flavors in this dish.

Let me know in the comments of how cooking your first pot roast went. Was is smooth sailing like mine, or did it flop?

25 views0 comments
bottom of page