top of page
  • Writer's pictureTwo Leos And A Gypsy .

Chicago Summer Pop Ups 2019


Hello My Gypsy Friends!!

Chicagooooooooooo, my beloved city, I truly have fallen for it this year. Between dog friendly beaches, a fabulous riverwalk and soul right down to our toes, what else could you ask for? Chicago is famous for deep dish pizza and Italian beef, but I'm deeming it one of the best places for pop ups as well. If you don't know what a pop up is then drill a hole in the rock you've been in because pop ups are the new trend I hope never go away. And seriously, what a concept? Your favorite place whether it be a restaurant, bar or even clothing store needs to add a little flavor to their business, so they turn it into another theme for the weekend or even month. Here, take my money.

I know pop ups have been around for a bit, but I've personally seen them take off (on social media) for the past year. As I've mentioned before Esteban and I stopped buying each other gifts for birthdays and holidays and instead have been going on mini adventures. In early July I started searching for the perfect event to bring my hubby to when literally, perfection, hit me in my face. 29 Rooms for a 29 birthday? Brilliant!! https://www.29rooms.com/

What really attracted me to the event was not only was 29 the perfect amount of rooms, since Esteban was turning 29, but the theme was Expand Your Reality. Everywhere you turned a new element sparked your creativity and inspiration.

Although this traveling exhibit is closed in Chicago, be on the lookout for their other locations in Toronto or Washington D.C. We spent almost three hours exploring the a crystallized meditation room, dance party area and even an all fur bedroom.

You may be thinking that this type of event is just for people to take pictures and put them on social media, and even though it is a little about that, there were other things to do than just snap a photo. I learned how to read my partners palm, my husband and I got to paint huge blocks together and we participated in a group escape challenge.

Esteban and I have been living together for about five years now and we learn new things about each other all the time. Coming to 29 Rooms and watching him strike poses and be silly, while still creating physical and metaphysical art was an experience we've never taken before. After coming here, I knew I wanted to do something similar for my 24 birthday, which is when I found Neon Summer Chicago!

Contrary to 29 Rooms, Neon Summer Chicago is an outdoor event and the main attractions include an eight hole mini golf course, an eleven lap go carting race and ax throwing. https://www.neonsummerchicago.com/

If you are looking to get a little competitive with your friends or family I would seriously recommend this pop up. You have until the first weekend in September to try it out. We picked the 7pm time frame and it was nothing short of perfection. Because the sun was out once we arrived, the first thing we did was take pictures at all of the cute photo booths in between the golf holes. Where else are you going to find large adirondack chairs, a rainbow swing set and a huge balloon set waiting to sweep you off of your feet? They also had sets where it looked like you were on the covers of Vogue and Sports Illustrated.

Once we got all of our cute pictures we headed to the race track. At this time the sun started to set and I gracefully lost the race in a beautiful sunset with the city in the background.

After the race we grabbed our golf equipment and went through the course. Now when they call this "Neon Summer", in the dark, you can see what it is all about. This place shines!! We really had the best time here and even grabbed a giant slice of pizza at the food trucks before heading to Replay for the next pop up of the night.

This was our first time trying out Replay in Lincoln Park. This place is known for free arcade games and more recently their themed pop up bars. Once you walk in, the place is authentically dated and has a hipster vibe. As you start walking in you will see party lights and a small staircase that leads you to the pop up area. In the past Replay has hosted a Friends, Game of Thrones and even an Office themed pop up bar. I will definitely be on the lookout for the next ones as well because where else can you eat a Krabby Patty and wash it down with a Secret Formula drink?!!! https://replaylincolnpark.com/

The pop up bar was really interesting because they had every little detail. The tables were shaped like boat helms, bubbles throughout the air and cutouts of all the characters. Spongebob was playing all over the big screens and the energy in here was FUN!!!

I do have to say that the pop up are is pretty large, but at peak date and time it gets crowded. We did eventually head back to the original Replay area to indulge in some Mortal Kombat, car racing and pinball!

Overall, I love to see my city participating in fun and creative pop ups, there really is something for everybody, just do a quick google search. I know there is a Murphy's (old hotdog stand) pop up coming to Chicago this weekend and even in a month or so a Swerski's (SNL Chicago Bears sketch) pop up coming as well. Also, a local town about 30 minutes away is hosting a Harry Potter themed bar for September that I am hoping to check out. Let me know in the comments if you have or plan on enjoying a pop up around you!!

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page